Skip to content

Globally Positioned Raptor on the Airwaves

June 8, 2010

Turns out this blogiraptor is not yet extinct. Party! Yet where have I been since May something-or-other when I posted last? My excuse is busy and lazy I suppose. Exciting updates:

Currently working as an intern at an incredibly cool company called NovAtel, based in beautiful (and weather-schizophrenic) Calgary, AB, Canada. While not widely known in a public forum, NovAtel works on high-end GNSS (Global Navigation Satellite System) receivers, enclosures, and software for incorporation into other industry’s products (not for direct sale to the public), as well as related products such as inertial devices. In case you don’t know, by the way, GNSS is the general term for satellite systems that can tell you where you are; this includes the widely popular GPS (Global Positioning System), the less reliable Russian GLONASS system (GLObal NAvigation Satellite System), and the soon-to-be-operational Chinese COMPASS and Europe’s Galileo. NovAtel is a big player in the non-commercial GNSS world. Needless to say, I am excited, and already learning about as much as I did in my first two years of engineering.

Another development that I look forward to is my upcoming involvement at the U of C’s campus radio station, CJSW. I recently started volunteering there, and I think it’s really the right thing to do around my working schedule; taking a tour through the studios at the station’s brand new office just put a smile on my face (and brought back memories of working the sound board for live theatre performances). Yes, you read right: first the internet, then raptors on the radio! Assuming I can eventually work my way into a position where I will have my own show, that is. I’ll let you know.

So, long story short, I’m settled into my summer groove. Roar.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Eric Ng permalink
    June 9, 2010 9:59 am

    Whoa!! That is some quality some fun right there. Good job Bryan. I’m excited for that radio show!!

Leave a Reply

